Easter

So this eater brought masses pain masses of chocolate into my house, so much so I decided enough was enough and some baking needed to be done!!
We decided to melt down the chocolate eggs and bake chocolate cupcakes and some good old fashioned chocolate crispy buns. We went to our local bargain shop and bought some fluffy chicks, to add to our masterpieces! My little lord devoured two…. He is a one in each hand kinda guy!!

20140502-123543.jpg

We decided to use Peter Rabbit cupcake cases and figures for our chocolate cupcakes…. Which turned out extremely yummy indeed.

The recipe is as follows…

8oz self raising flour
8oz caster sugar
8oz stork baking marg
4 organic eggs
2 tbspns of coco powder mixed with one of hot water.

You could bung everything into one big mix, however I tend to mix butter and sugar and then gradually add my eggs and flour alternating between them. The coco mixture I added last.

This quantity made 16 medium cupcakes and a small cake ( I hate leaving left overs…. My husbands work approved ).

I baked these in a fan assisted oven for 25 mins and cooled them on a wire rake.

For the icing I used the melted chocolate eggs… Two medium eggs melted VERY slowly over a pan of steaming water ( not boiling ). I meanwhile beat

3 oz of butter
6oz of icing sugar.

A little truck is to beat the butter first until into a paste and then gradually add the icing sugar….. This creates a smaller cloud of icing sugar than if you beat them both together initially.

I added the smooth cooled melted chocolate. If you think the icing is still a little thick add a tough of milk, though mix everything well in your mixer.

The finished products were devoured quickly by my own little chocoholic…. Who I can safely say had a lovely Easter!!!

20140502-125117.jpg

20140502-125148.jpg

Leave a Reply

