Roasted sweet potato and butternut squash soup

I decided I hadn’t used sweet potato in any of my recipes for a while and as my little monster has started to eat again, I wanted to try and vary his diet as much as possible.

I am guilty of making some batches of food for him and repeating them over and over. However after his little hunger strike I thought variety was the key to keep him interested.

I decided to make a new recipe…. A variation of my lentil soup; sweet potato and butternut squash soup.

3 roasted sweet potatoes
1 chopped and peeled butternut squash
1 onion
1 leek
3 carrots
Ham stock

I roasted the sweet potatoes the night before while cooking our dinner. I just prick them and place them on a baking tray for 30 mins in 180 degree fan oven. Leave to cool and them squeeze out the flesh and cool before popping into fridge.

I chopped and peeled the butternut squash discarded any seeds and stringy fleshy part. I then peeled and chopped the carrots and sautéed everything in a large pan with butter for 15mins.

20131208-200357.jpg.

I then added the onion and leek and sautéed for a further fifteen minutes.

20131208-200450.jpg

I finally added the stock and brought through the boil and simmered for 30 mins and blitzed with my trusty hand blender!!

And hey presto sweet potato and butternut squash soup!!

He loves it and so did everyone else…. A great family lunch or dinner. Packed full of vegetables and very tasty. You can adjust the seasoning once you have taken out the little person’s portions. I usually add more stock cubes however salt and pepper would just do the same job!!

Let me know what you think!!

20131208-201123.jpg

20131208-201142.jpg

Leave a Reply

