Butternut squash soup

So a couple of weeks ago I had a butternut squash in the fridge and it had been sitting a while….

So I decided to make some soup. The recipe was adapted by myself from my lentil and carrot soup recipe.

2 onion
1 leek
3 carrots
1 peeled seeded and chopped butternut squash.

All sautéed together with butter until tender on a medium heat and then ham stock was added, about a litre of water with two/ three ham stock cubes ( depending on what you and your little one likes).

I then brought it through the boil and left it simmer for thirty minutes and then blitzed. I use a metal hand blender rather than transferring to a food processor.

My husband loved it and my little man eat away at it.

Cheap and very nutritious meal for a little person and makes loads!!

20131130-125353.jpg

Quick tip…..

To thicken I would heat with some breadcrumbs or make croutons using the high hair toast…. See my earlier post!

Enjoy!

One thought on “Butternut squash soup

  1. Pingback: My 3 Words # 87 | emilykarn

Leave a Reply

