Castle Douglas

Image

Well we are home and very relaxed after our far too short trip to Scotland. My family and I come from Portpatrick, a very small seaside village on the South West of Scotland. Every opportunity I get, I go back to spend some time there and breath in the fresh sea air.

While on our little holiday we decided to go to Castle Douglas for the day, hoping very much so that our monster might sleep on the way there. However wouldn’t you know it, he slept about twenty minutes of the hour and a bit journey.

Castle Douglas is described as being a food town, however i would beg to differ.

We came across one chocolate shop which I have to admit was lovely, we quickly went in and bought four chocolates to sample….. which were delicious. Being me, I asked the shop assistant if all the chocolates were made on the premises or were they bought in…. and to my surprise they were all made in the shop. It was not actually that expensive, £2.15 for four handmade chocolates….. and they really were yummy!!

Our next stop was a couple of children’s clothes shop….. I have yet to meet a mum that can walk past a kids clothes shop that has a 50% sale banner in the window. Needless to say my little man got a little spoiled!!! lol

For lunch we were recommended to try Designs, a cafe/ gallery. I can safely say that i don’t think I will be returning unfortunately. The waitresses were a little more concerned about how they looked and what went on the previous night, instead of thinking about the customers.

On arriving with a crying hungry baby, I went straight to the counter to ask for the baby’s food to be heated….. thank goodness this wasn’t a bother to them (one thumbs up).

However after returning to my seat the waitress appeared right on my tail to ask what we wanted to eat. At this point my husband was trying to wrestle my hungry little man into the highchair and i was trying to sort out his juice cup. I asked if we could have a moment, however after about three minutes, she reappeared. I then understood that if I didnt give her our order she would not give us peace. I hastily ordered a sandwich thing with bacon, brie and cranberry. All i can say is that Paul Hollywood would have had a field day as the bottom of the ciabbata was that soggy i couldnt actually cut through it. yuck!!

Anybody with a baby knows that lunch/ dinner….. really anytime that involves food and a high chair, can be very stressful. Time is precious and rushing a person to make a decision over a menu is not a good idea. In hindsight I should have said…. you know what love, why dont you take over here for a minute and give me a chance to read the menu and then i’ll decide!!!!

That would have given her something to think about.

Leave a Reply

